• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

QDOS IR35 insurance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

QDOS IR35 insurance

Hi,

I'm new to contracting, started in October on a 6-month contract, and it's been extended WEF next week to end of September. QDOS do provide my public liability insurance.

What I don't understand is the time period IR35 insurance covers.. does it back-date to October, when I started contracting?

What happens once my contract ends? I have a small child so may go back to not working until she is older... do I need to maintain a current IR35 policy indefinitely to cover me should HMRC suddenly decide to investigate me in the future?

Or what if I go back to PAYE employment? Again, do I have to maintain a current policy just in case?

Many thanks!
    Last edited by SmartieDriver; 18 April 2018, 14:04.

The general consensus appears to be to keep TLC35 or any other similar product running for a year after you have finished to cover yourself for any retrospective action when you close the company or whatever.

As long as they check the contract they should cover the gig. If you have an odd situation where you started before you took it or whatever your best bet is to speak to them. Insurance often has a habit of working everything in their favour to avoid paying out so speak to them directly if you even slightly unsure.
    Last edited by northernladuk; 18 April 2018, 11:59.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment