• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Gov direct contracting experience

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gov direct contracting experience

I was a freelancer in the past and then I had my own startup for 3 years. As I did not manage to scale up I have fallen back into contracting.

Currently contracting for various gov departments as a UX Designer.

Now I figure out that if I can cut out the middleman (recruitment agency or consultancy) I can make £100 - £300 extra a day. Two questions I have:

1) Are there any other ways to submit myself (my LTD) direct apart from G-Cloud and the Digitalmarketplace and what these other options are?

2) For anyone who already have done this, what are the implications/experience? I have read on this forum that getting a contract signed is a hassle which does not bother me too much but I also read that the payment needs to be chased and there can be long delays. Now, this can obviously affect the cash flow.

Originally posted by davecz View Post
    Now I figure out that if I can cut out the middleman (recruitment agency or consultancy) I can make £100 - £300 extra a day. Two questions I have:
    I'd be willing to guess that every single contractor on a public sector gig has thought the same. And you won't. If you are going to replace the agent one of the main factors the client will be looking for are cost savings.