• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Asked to work considerably longer hours to hit a deadline

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by blossom View Post
    As a self respecting contractor I would feel ashamed to not much in when things were needing doing.
    Why?

Comment

Hi All

As contractors, what are your thoughts on being asked to muck in and work weekends to meet a major critical milestone.

If it takes all hands on deck, and some contractors say they wont do it (and some permies), and the critical deadline is missed, how would you expect that to be handled?

Say, if you refused to work, and then the milestone was missed, what would you expect to happen?

Assume this milestone is a major big deal, and everyone has been working hard already to meet it.
      Depends. I once worked away from home on a project. I got lumbered with an Accentura lead when he came on board and said people would have to work OT over the weekend. I said fornicate that I go home Friday and come back Monday but, I'll work later Tuesday to Thursday.

Another project the numpty lead asked every one to work longer weeks. I said I would work as many hours as I could if we were behind (I did not think we were and the regular progress reports showed the same). He was just covering his bum but got upperty because no one would committ to his request.