• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Any Go(lang) developers here? How's it going?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any Go(lang) developers here? How's it going?

Hey guys,

I'm a Go dev and 3 months into a 6 month gig.. it's going good and I enjoy the language. It appears the market is pretty buoyant at the moment too..

Just wondering how others are going with Go around London/City and FinTech also.

It's cool and i'm happy to work on various tech and not really a one show pony (I hope/think) so if it flops I can probably move to something else..

My experience is that there is a huge variety of projects and also experience levels in Go, which leads to debate and consternation.. I guess that is programming the world over right!?

Up for debate: Do you think Go is a flash in the pan trend kind of like Ruby on Rails was or do you think it's got a much stronger foundation and is here to stay as a staple in the development of systems and services? I think it is but I am biased..

Cheers folks..

I don't work in Go but considered it some time ago when the market was stagnant and my recent experience (Testing/Test Automation/Developer in Test) didn't get me any calls. But I decided to go with BigData stack rather than Go. The reason being, my time invested on learning Dart (a language developed by Google) earlier didn't pay off. On the core stack, many Fintech are still with Java and/or C#, C++ and may take their time to switch to Go. Because there are no compelling use cases to switch (at least as for as I know).