• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 work - endlessly sent "temporary employee" roles over classic contracts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 work - endlessly sent "temporary employee" roles over classic contracts

I've been out of the recruiter game for quite a while as I've been lucky enough to secure contracts directly through word of mouth etc. However...

I've been speaking to a bunch of recruiters today and all the gig specs they send me (I'm a frontend web dev) are basically just large companies building up temporary teams of "contractors" (with a few permies) to work on large "digital regeneration" projects. Asides from the skill requirements, the specs all talk of stuff like mentoring juniors, helping with appraisals, participating in, and I quote, "learning dojos", assisting with recruitment, etc.

Do people just take these contracts and work through a brolly/declare themselves caught? Or is your standard contractor in denial/ignorance? I just don't understand how these sort of gigs exist - it's the worst of both worlds (no benefits, no security) unless the rates are sky high (which they're not).

Thoughts?

Is this something new? I've not seen anything like this at all and it's hardly ever mentioned on here. Your experience appears to completely different the norm. Are you sure you haven't applied for the same gig through different recruiters or you are over egging the situation?

I've had a quick shufti on jobserve and don't see any of that mentioned in anything I looked at?