• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

BP plc - Canary Wharf

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BP plc - Canary Wharf

Hi eveyone - suggestion tips about this client? how is it to work there as a contractor nowadays overthere?

Originally posted by flavios View Post
    Hi eveyone - suggestion tips about this client? how is it to work there as a contractor nowadays overthere?
    It depends on which team you work in. I was a contractor at BP for a couple of months, worked both at Canary Wharf and in wherever their Surrey office is (can't remember).
    BP is a massive thing, reminded me a lot of the public sector. We had to provide our own tools but due to the systems they required us to install, there was a LOT of struggle with compatibility - including those that had super duper laptops.

A lot of in-shored Indians, when one of them became my 'surpervisor', I left.

All in all, it was a boring experience. Everything moved slowly, there appears to be a mixture of short term contractors, lifers in their 50s and Wipro Indian employees.

Comment

Originally posted by Contractor101101 View Post
      , there appears to be a mixture of short term contractors, lifers in their 50s and Wipro Indian employees.
      what could possibly go wrong with that mix?

People who don't care. People who only care about their pension in 5 years. And people who pretend to care but don't.
      See You Next Tuesday

Comment

Originally posted by Lance View Post
        what could possibly go wrong with that mix?