• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract mess - advice needed please!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract mess - advice needed please!

Hello everyone. I am new to contracting and hoping someone could shed some light on a situation I found strange.

I was hired by a large fashion company (very reputable, large brand in Europe) in London and offered a day rate of $430 for a 6-month contract. The role was posted calling for a Data Scientist, but the role turned out to be a Program Manager/Scrum Master job which was what I was strongest at anyway so I accepted the role.

Keep in the mind, the role was posted directly on the company’s website and all the recruiters I spoke to were in fact employed by that company.

The recruiter moved super-fast and after two phone interviews asked if I could start in two weeks. Oddly, though, when they sent the contract over they copied a third-party company on the email and informed me that payroll and contract signing would all go through an agency called Tri Consulting. I looked this company up and I got very confused. They seem to be a recruitment agency that provides contractors out to clients. No where in the contract is the company I am actually working for named. They are just referred to as CLIENT and it seems like I signed an employment contract with Tri Consulting, who in turn is loaning me out to this fashion company.