• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

contractor car insurance claim

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

contractor car insurance claim

Hi guys,

I am new to contracting and have been contracting for a few months.

Unfortunately had a recent accident. And after checking my insurance policy I realised that my insurance is not for business or commuting purposes. It is only for social/personal purposes. Did not realise that I will be needing a different type of insurance.
    I was travelling from one city(the address on my insurance policy) to other. My destination city (where my contract is based) I have rented a room near the work place. I have never used the car for daily commute.Instead use the car when commuting from my temporary home to my primary home to see my family. This happens every two weeks or so on a weekend.

This is a more general question - would my insurance provider refuse my claim If I tell the truth. I would rather come clean. I can argue I do not use my car on a daily basis for work commute.

Originally posted by HardCop View Post
    Hi guys,

I am new to contracting and have been contracting for a few months.

Unfortunately had a recent accident. And after checking my insurance policy I realised that my insurance is not for business or commuting purposes. It is only for social/personal purposes. Did not realise that I will be needing a different type of insurance.