• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Can anyone recommend a lawyer? Contract changed due to implicit excuse

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can anyone recommend a lawyer? Contract changed due to implicit excuse

I've been working at a big company for a couple of months via a recruitment agency, with a 1 month notice period. I am a ltd business, i fill in a time sheet to the recruiter, they invoice the company and then the recruiter pays me. The company asked if i wanted to extend my contract recently. We both agreed to extend and the recruiter has confirmed both parties signed this off and this is written.

The company have now decided they don't want to extend the contract. To get out of this they are saying it was 'implicit' (their words) that the notice period had gone from 1 month to 0 days. The extension made no reference to notice period. All this part has been verbal so far. They want me in on the first day of the contract extension but thats it. I have again had no written confirmation of this.

So where do i stand, is it worth contacting a lawyer, as in my mind they are breaking the contract or worse, trying to get me to break it by keeping all this verbal. Any advice?

No it's not. There is no work to do so there is nothing to bill for. You are done.

Notice periods are largely irrelevant for us as we only get paid for the work we do. If there is no work then we aren't paid, irrespective of notice.