• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Seasonal IT Contracts Availbility

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Seasonal IT Contracts Availbility

Hello,

I am fairly new to contracting <1 year. I finished up my last gig in Nov. last year and I suspected it wasn't a good time to be on the bench. I have since been looking for the market to pick up a bit in terms of development jobs but the market looks fairly docile. So I was wondering if things are usually quite round about the start of the year primarily because companies are coming close to their accounting dates or for some other factor e.g brexit?

Thanks.

Originally posted by siphr View Post
    Hello,

I am fairly new to contracting <1 year. I finished up my last gig in Nov. last year and I suspected it wasn't a good time to be on the bench. I have since been looking for the market to pick up a bit in terms of development jobs but the market looks fairly docile. So I was wondering if things are usually quite round about the start of the year primarily because companies are coming close to their accounting dates or for some other factor e.g brexit?

Thanks.
    Traditionally it is quiet around Christmas. A lot of companies, particularly finance related, have a contractor furlough around Christmas. Tends to pick up after the new year and then I would expect it to be back to normal by now. There may also be a bit of Brexit factoring in too, but work does still go on and projects still need completing.