• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Wipro Contract with Lloyd’s Banking Group via Agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wipro Contract with Lloyd’s Banking Group via Agency

I’m relatively new to the contracting scene (just coming up to the end of my first year) and I’m currently in the process of interviewing for a new contract with Wipro for Lloyd’s Banking Group. I’ve done their tech test and have a phone interview later this week.

It’s hard to avoid the overwhelming amount of criticism of Wipro and the horror stories I’ve read in the forum do fill me with some doubt. That being said, I’m not applying for this role directly through Wipro, instead via an agency. Is this likely to give me at least a smidge of security / likelihood of being paid on time, etc?

The rate they’re offering is more than I’m on at the minute but I’m well aware it’s below the market average after everyone has dipped their hand into the pot and because of Wipro’s stack ‘em high sell ‘em cheap approach. That being said, I would welcome the opportunity of working in the banking sector from an experience POV.

I guess my question is, does the fact I’m applying via an agency lessen the risk of these horror stories I’ve read so much about coming to fruition or shall I just start running for the hills now?

Originally posted by ojf95 View Post