• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice - going back perm after years of contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice - going back perm after years of contracting

Hi all,

I've browsed these pages for a while and this is my first contribution... Hoping anybody can advise or at the very least give me their point of view.

I've been contracting for 8 years now and have been lucky enough to work at a variety of interesting places, and been consistent with it.

I'm currently contracting for a large online business and they have made it pretty clear that they want me to go permy. Having been in this position before I'd normally say no outright but I like it here for a number of reasons; great location, decent culture, potential opportunity. They'll never come anywhere close to what I earn now but if i were to consider perm it would be for the reasons I've just mentioned.

I wondered if anybody has gone back to perm from years of contracting and why?

Inversely if you're a contractor and have been in this situation, why have you stayed contracting?

Alonso

Originally posted by AlonsoHarris View Post
    Hi all,

I've browsed these pages for a while and this is my first contribution... Hoping anybody can advise or at the very least give me their point of view.

I've been contracting for 8 years now and have been lucky enough to work at a variety of interesting places, and been consistent with it.