• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agency added completion payment clause negligently without client knowledge

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agency added completion payment clause negligently without client knowledge

I am an IT contractor and completed a contract Sep 2018-March 2019 through an agency for a banking client. My ltd company contract with the agency had a completion payment clause, i.e. if I complete the 7 month contract then (as per client discretion) I will get a nice little bonus at the end, paid by the client. At the end of contract, all other contractors (hired directly or via other agencies) received the confirmation from the client that they will be getting the bonus equal to 15% of invoicing. When I enquired about my payment, the client was surprised to know that the agency had included the clause in my contract, even though they had instructed the agency that new contracts, around the time I started work, will not be offered completion payment. The client confirmed that the agency has made a mistake.

I contacted the agency and they admitted that the clause was added by mistake in my contract. However, they are claiming due to the language in the contract, they don't have to remedy anything.

‘The amount of the Completion Payment will be determined by the Client in its sole discretion based on such factors as the Client shall determine in its absolute discretion,
    including the quality of the Services and Deliverables provided.’