• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Should I consider a contracting job? Currently I earn £82K as permanent in Scotland

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I consider a contracting job? Currently I earn £82K as permanent in Scotland

Hi,

I am in a big dilemma and need some guidance.

I am an IT professional with nearly 20 years experience and earn £82K as permanent staff in Scotland. I live with my family ( wife and 2 young kids ). We are planning to move closer to London in near future and confused whether I should take up a contract role or stick with Permanent job.

I have done some research and if I stay as permanent staff I think I can get around £90K to £100K as base salary with a new permanent job near London.

If I choose contracting I believe that I would get around between £450 to £500 per day for my line of expertise.

Both the above options will include reasonable travel away from my base location. I am confused which option to go for. Whether it will be better to go for contracting or should I stick with permanent.

Any inputs/guidance/advice is much appreciated.

Thanks

With the changes potentially coming in 2020 I'd snap their hand off if a client offered me that plus benefits.

Do you enjoy your perm job? The only reason I'd leave that kind of money is if I hated the job.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post