• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

More work + more responsibility = Same Day rate?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

More work + more responsibility = Same Day rate?

Folks,

My client has approached me to take a position of a team lead role (more responsibilities etc), mid contract. What is my stance on day rate uplift, and/or saying no in the likely event I tell them ''no'' ?

Any help on how to approach this situation with the client without coming across like a complete newb?

Thanks
    Ad

Originally posted by KingFrank View Post
    Folks,

My client has approached me to take a position of a team lead role (more responsibilities etc), mid contract. What is my stance on day rate uplift, and/or saying no in the likely event I tell them ''no'' ?

Any help on how to approach this situation with the client without coming across like a complete newb?

Thanks
    Ad
    Are you a newb?

No disrespect, there's two ways to look at it:-
    • It's good experience thus I'm not going to sweat the money.
    • Just more of the same clients trying to squeeze more for less.

Only you know what's going on at the clients site and whether or not the experience of being a team lead is new or valuable to you. Personally, when I climb the ladder, I usually wait until renewal to ask for more money. But I suppose if I took a step down on purpose, I'd immediately expect a bump on being asked to do more.

Comment

Originally posted by KingFrank View Post
      Folks,

Thanks
      Ad