• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Same Role From Different Recruiting Agencies But Massive Price Difference

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Same Role From Different Recruiting Agencies But Massive Price Difference

I'm quite new to contracting and got my first 6 months contract this year which is due to expire end of the month. I have been approached by two different agencies for the same role but different day rate. One is offering £500 while the other is offering £300.

Is this normal in the recruiting world for agencies to try and get a contractor at the lowest possible rate they can get so they can keep the rest of the money? I've been getting calls for contract role for £150 to £200 day for 3rd Line 4th line IT roles which includes project work. I mean do contractors actually accept this low ball offers?

Maybe i'm new to contracting which is why i am thinking like this but i would love to hear your thoughts on this

Originally posted by skywalker007 View Post

Is this normal in the recruiting world for agencies to try and get a contractor at the lowest possible rate they can get so they can keep the rest of the money? I've been getting calls for contract role for £150 to £200 day for 3rd Line 4th line IT roles which includes project work. I mean do contractors actually accept this low ball offers?
    Yes, and yes.

There are other scenarios to consider though.