• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Confidence as a Contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Confidence as a Contractor

I have been contracting for about 7 years.

Most of that I felt like someone was going to tap me on the shoulder and tell me it's time to leave and it's all been an elaborate ploy.

Over the years, and moving through lots of offices, I started to realise that I kind of knew what I was talking about and could do a decent job.

In most of my interviews especially the early ones I was so keen to push my achievements and my technical skills it was exhausting.

However my latest search was completely different. I have got an ok War Chest and could use a break, but I was still getting calls.

So I decided to believe I was good at what I did and it kind of worked.

When asked about rates and working locations I was very firm but fair. I got a call about a great rate with 50/50 WFH.

I had a phone interview with the Tech chap from the client and it was totally different to any other interview I have had.

Because I was not desperate for the contract, it progressed just like a "chat", totally informal and we traded stories about awful contracts we had been on etc. It was clear that we both knew what we were talking about and he was feeling me out for team fit.