• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working out of contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I would continue if I were you... When I was a consultant at a couple of the big five, we often our of contract, they called it, worked at risk, you seem to have reasonable reassurance that the contract will be sorted, so no need to worry about it...

Comment

Most companies have a policy that you should not be on site should you not have a contract.

Asking client to confirm this with HR used to be my first recourse.

Comment

Originally posted by pr1 View Post
        Assuming you are busy and the client still needs you, tell them you aren't coming in on Monday without a new contract, don't go in on Monday, 95% you'll have a new contract by lunch time on Monday
        This. I had an agent once telling me that I should start a new gig without a contract and that one would be with me shortly. I politely explained that I would not be onsite without a signed contract. They replied that it would take a few days.

Monday 10am I had a call from a panicky agent saying, "Where are you?"
        "Where's my contract?" I replied.

It was sorted within 30 mins.
        And the lord said unto John; "come forth and receive eternal life." But John came fifth and won a toaster.

Comment

So they have now sent me a new contract - not bad for 5pm on a Friday. That's me signed up till Christmas.

Comment

Originally posted by willendure View Post