• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on whether to stick with contract role or to take permanent role

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on whether to stick with contract role or to take permanent role

Hi all,

I'd like some advice on my next career move. I'm an agile/digital business analyst and I've recently ventured into my first contracting role. I'm currently on a 12 month contract doing a systems BA role i.e. issue investigation/resolution, configuration, test scripting/execution, supporting business users. The role is not going to help my career prospects, but the day rate is decent and the working environment is great I.e. nice/helpful colleagues, good/flexible hours and I can work from home. However I've just been offered a permanent role doing agile/digital/mobile/web work which will help my future career prospects a lot but the salary is a lot less.

So my dilemma is either

1. Stick with the contract role for the money, start my job search in 6 months and hope to get back into a role I want to do once my contract finishes or possibly slightly earlier if I’m lucky enough to get the right role.

2. Take the perm role and make do on the lower salary for two to three years and then hopefully I'll be in a better position to get a better paid permanent role or go back into contracting doing a role I want to do (not had any luck securing one of these this time round, possibly due to lack of experience).