• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Strange client restrictions

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Strange client restrictions

Hi Folks,

Started a new contract yesterday; was given the usual Health & Safety tour, which ended at the kitchen area - where I was told that as a contractor I was not permitted to use the drink making facilities, I would need to bring my own tea/coffee/milk sugar!

Never come across this before, anyone else ever come across strange client restrictions?

Feel free to move this if it is best placed elsewhere.

WLB

nope. Never.

get it in writing and file in your 'IR35 evidence' folder. It's only a weak pointer, but it's still evidence.
    See You Next Tuesday

Comment

Did they ask you to bring your own bog roll too?

Comment

The permies may have some sort of coffee club going where they share the cost of restocking the kitchen, or der management (Hale and Pace reference for the oldies) may have some bee in their bonnet about contractors not using the permie facilities.

I expect they have a separate coffee/tea facility for any business guests and management so see if you can use that. Worse case scenario you sort yourself out and don't have to bother about asking the permies if they want a brew when you go to make yours (having a stash of tea/coffee in your desk) seeing as you are excluded from their 'club'. Personally I'd class that as a win.