• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

£50/hr compared to £52k salary... pension, holidays, etc

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

£50/hr compared to £52k salary... pension, holidays, etc

Hello

I've never contracted but I've been offered a 12 month contract on £50/hr so £400/day making = 40 h x £50 x 46 weeks (i.e. knock off 6 wks hols) = £92k
    For a newbie to all this that sounds a lot, but having read a few posts perhaps not?? I just want to check your thoughts? (I'm a mechanical engineer btw)
    My current employer pays me £52k but they also pay in ~£10k into a pension and obviously I get 6 weeks paid holiday (about £6k), so that salary is more like £68k (is that right calculation??)

Still a big difference but is this normally enough to make someone take the plunge wit hall the risks and hassles that accompany contracting?

cheers
    Fin

You are also forgetting sickness and bank holidays

Comment

Originally posted by fatbadger View Post
      Hello

I've never contracted but I've been offered a 12 month contract on £50/hr so £400/day making = 40 h x £50 x 46 weeks (i.e. knock off 6 wks hols) = £92k
      For a newbie to all this that sounds a lot, but having read a few posts perhaps not?? I just want to check your thoughts? (I'm a mechanical engineer btw)
      My current employer pays me £52k but they also pay in ~£10k into a pension and obviously I get 6 weeks paid holiday (about £6k), so that salary is more like £68k (is that right calculation??)