• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract Turned into a Nightmare

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract Turned into a Nightmare

I'm new here and hoping to get some advice.

I have been contracting for about 4 years and on my 4th contract. I work at a pretty senior level and the roles I do are well paid and few and far between. The current role was perfect - local, good money, perfect for my experience and a great boss to work for. The MD of the company was very easy going, but after a couple of months he left and was replaced with a character who was completely the opposite. He immediately asked for me to work for him which was flattering and fine initially.

I have now been in the role 6 months (of a 9 month contract). The MD is under a great deal of pressure I am sure, but has very poor people skills and has turned into a bully who undermines me in front of the rest of his team at regular opportunities. I am good at what I do and have always had great feedback in the past, but his constant put downs are making me doubt my abilities, dread the next encounter with him and my stress levels have gone through the roof. I am struggling to concentrate on the work as I am always fearful of making the wrong step and live in a permanent state of anxiety. There are no other contractors at my level and I am sure that if I voiced my concerns to the MD or HR I would just be shown the door - is there any obligation for the company to be concerned with the mental wellbeing of contractors?