• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice needed - go perm or risk finding a new job in March?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice needed - go perm or risk finding a new job in March?

Hi everyone,

I know this post is asking for a crystal ball but I'd really appreciate people's thoughts or advice.

I'm a LtdCo contract Business Analyst. I've been doing it for 10 years as a LtdCo contractor, and never been out of work for more than 4 weeks. I'm limited in that I have to stay in my chosen city due to family reasons, but I've been lucky to manage to find jobs here all that time. Most of my jobs have been minimum 18 months, so hopefully my CV looks good.

My current client is great. Been there 18 months now, and I love it. People are great, work is interesting. They've offered for me to go perm at the end of my current contract period, which is March. They are basically letting all their contractors go in March anyway due to IR35. From what I can tell, they can't be bothered to assess anyone, so they are just not renewing.

So, my dilemma is: Do I go perm and take the hit in take home pay, or do I risk that there will be other jobs out there?