• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract ending early....is this legal?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract ending early....is this legal?

Hi all, first post here.

I am a self-employed IT Contractor working for my own business (one employee - me). Have been doing this for about three years now working within the UK for UK firms. I signed the contract with (FIRM1 who pay me) to work for (FIRM2 who require the work to be done)

In October I signed a 6 month IT contract which would take me to the end of March 2020, but today received news that the company (nameless) that I am working for state there's no money left in the budget to pay so they're (FIRM2) ending the contract and I'll be out of work right before the Christmas period.....

What are my rights here? Thanks in advance for any helpful comments - first time I have experienced this and very bad timing right before the xmas period...

Regards,

Drago

Originally posted by Dragosani View Post
    What are my rights here?
    Unless you've a very special contract, you have no rights at all. This is the downside of contracting. That and HMRC out to getcha.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

Hi all, first post here.

I am a self-employed IT Contractor working for my own business (one employee - me). Have been doing this for about three years now working within the UK for UK firms. I signed the contract with (FIRM1 who pay me) to work for (FIRM2 who require the work to be done)