• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Entry level jobs in data science

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Entry level jobs in data science

Hi
    I am a working professional and looking to get entry level data science jobs (python, sql, machine learning). Can someone suggest what would be a good approach to get a hit. thanks

How much experience of data science do you have?

Comment

Get a permie job that will offer you the ability to get training and gain some experience. Stick with it for a couple of years and then have a look at what's left of contracting.
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by seeker View Post
        Hi
        I am a working professional and looking to get entry level data science jobs (python, sql, machine learning). Can someone suggest what would be a good approach to get a hit. thanks
        Do you have a genuine interest in data science? Or are you looking to catch the next wave of opportunity?

If it is the latter I’d have another think about it because I’ve paired with real data scientists doing that for a day job and to be honest I found it quite tedious.

It is crunching data and applying statistics to come up with insights. If that floats your boat then there are some remote mscs in data science if you want an intro without giving up the day job.

Make the move quick though because there are going to be hundreds of DS grads in the next few years. What they are all going to do God only knows.

Comment