• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New Contract Withholding Part Payment Until Contract Complete

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Contract Withholding Part Payment Until Contract Complete

Hi All

I am new to the forum, sorry if this question has already been asked. I have been contracting for several years now and I am in the process of signing a 2 year contract with a company for my service. One of the clauses in the contract states that they will retain £50 of my daily rate until the contract is complete (they are calling it a retainer). They want to do this to ensure that I don't leave before the contract ends. Once the contract is complete they will pay the "retainer". I am not very happy about this obviously, but 2 years work would be great. Is this legal? or should they be offering me a bonus to complete the contract.

Many Thanks for your answers in advance.

Originally posted by bobsyouruncle3403 View Post
    Hi All