• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 - Switching Tax Residency Overseas But Staying With UK Client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 - Switching Tax Residency Overseas But Staying With UK Client

I have been contracting with my client for over two years now and my current contract is up at the end of Feb. My plan after this is to move overseas and contract abroad, however my client has recently mentioned that they would be interested in hiring me through through my foreign limited company and working remotely which may be outside IR35 given non-UK tax residents are not subject to IR35 regulations.

What would be the risks involved in my switching my tax residency abroad and contracting for the same client from a foreign country (I would be living abroad and working remotely)? Would the HMRC come down with an iron fist?
    Last edited by DaaaaaaaaaaN; 6 February 2020, 20:55.

Originally posted by DaaaaaaaaaaN View Post
    Would the HMRC come down with an iron fist?
    Absolutely, they would. Their problem is that their reach doesn't extend overseas, so their iron fist would splash into the water and do nothing but get their sleeve wet.

If you are not UK tax resident, and you are contracting directly with the client via a foreign company, HMRC has no authority and IR35 would not apply.

Whether you can get your tax residency changed that quickly might be another question.

Comment