• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Decisions...decisions...Perm vs Contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Decisions...decisions...Perm vs Contract

Hi, would like to gather people’s thoughts on a scenario I anticipate happening and want to understand what you would do in my situation.
    Now I’ve been a contractor for 6 years within banking so very well aware of the risks and rewards involved, Iv been without a contract since end of December with the war chest slowly depleting. With contracts being few and far between I potentially have 2 upcoming offers as per below:-

1) A contract offer of £475 a day for a government based project (6 months contract) but I know there’s potentially at least a years worth of work - only 10mins drive

2) £60k perm role back at a company I used to work for (I know them well and expect longevity) - 50mins drive however once settled will get 2-3 days wfh.

In normal circumstances the obvious choice would be the contract role (no questions asked)...however we aren’t in normal time’s and I have something niggling at the back of my mind that due to the abundance of money the government has had to spend because of the pandemic, a balance of the books would need to be completed sooner rather than later therefore any cost cutting initiative would most likely occur within their own projects (therefore contract could get cut short).