• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract rate coming under pressure

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract rate coming under pressure

Hi All,

I'm a front end development contractor, current contract is due for renewal soon - I'm under contract with a company that effectively hire me out to their client. Coincidentally, the contract between the client and the company I have a contract with is also due for renewal at the same time.

On recent calls they've mentioned that the client will be putting their rates under pressure - clearly 'prepping' us for them to reduce our rates.

The rate I'm currently paid is a little below market rate, but I've enjoyed working for the company so that hasn't been a problem. However, they are certainly considered expensive by their clients - they make a huge markup on our day rates (something I'm comfortable with, not complaining - they've built a brand and have provided me with projects that I wouldn't have been able to get myself directly).

A few questions:

Is anyone else seeing their day rates come under pressure?

Should I be willing to accept a day rate reduction in the current climate? My concern is that they're taking advantage of the instability and obviously being taken advantage of isn't a good road to go down.

Any general thoughts on the current market/outlook?

Yes I had one last month but the consultancy swallowed half so was peanuts. I was pretty nervous about renewals as 3 out of a team of 5 have gone since Feb so snapped their hand off.