• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Lost contract to very junior in-house hire. Now being asked to train them?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lost contract to very junior in-house hire. Now being asked to train them?

Hi all,

First post - please be kind!

So, I've been working for a client for the last ten years, providing a regular monthly service for a set fee. This service involves planning, design, production and management and accounted for about half my billable hours, most months.

Last year, they let me know that they'd be taking the role in-house, due to "costs". It's taken them ten months, but they've finally found someone, so they gave me official notice that our contract would finish at the end of June.

I immediately found a six-month full-time contract and had planned to polish off the remaining contracted work for this month during evenings and weekends. However, they're now asking that I help the new person with the transition: "In terms of the handover, it would be great if you could go through what you do from end to end, and help to explain the [redacted] style? ...go through the technical side of uploading [redacted] too?" When I explained that I'd try to find time but can't guarantee availability during normal working hours, they acted as if I was leaving them in the lurch.