• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie - do contracts ever fall through?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - do contracts ever fall through?

I’m new to contracting and just got my first 6 month contract, starting in a few weeks.

I have been in a permanent position but my department closed (due to Covid) so was made redundant. Now my current company have offered me another role and are putting pressure on me to stay.

The permanent role sounds great but I think I’m still going to take the contact as it’s an exciting project and I get a big redundancy pay out. I would also feel terrible going back on a contract (if that’s even possible?).

My question is is there any chance that the contract falls through? I would hate to turn down an excellent permanent position for the contract to just fall through.
    Is it unreasonable to ask the people I’m contracting for (civil service) this? Will I look like I’m playing games/ I’m a nutter?!

I've had at least three contracts fall through at a fairly late date (twice on the Friday before a Monday start), and I've also binned a couple without starting when the agency contract turned out to be a pile of horsefeathers.

So yes, they do, regularly.

And contracting is not just another job, it's a whole change of life - and you will be out of work in six months. Make sure yo understand that. If you want certainty, stay permanent.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

I've heard of people arriving at the client site on day one and being told they had been canned.