• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting vs Permanent

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting vs Permanent

Hi guys, Looking for some advice!

I have been contracting for 8 months at a rate of £425. I have been offered a position within the company on £60,000 a year plus Van. If I stay contracting there’s enough work for 18 months, whereas the permanent position there is currently 3/4 years work currently.

Limited*

With the current climate and now official in a recession, what are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance!!!
    Last edited by Deadlyspark1; 26 August 2020, 10:12.

If there's 18 months work there at £425 per day I'd stick with the contract. Unless it is one of these vans KLASSEN LUXURY - Biggest Luxury Marketplace
    First Law of Contracting: Only the strong survive

Comment

Ignoring rates/salary here.. Are you currently working through your own company outside of IR35?

Comment

Originally posted by CheeseSlice View Post
        Ignoring rates/salary here.. Are you currently working through your own company outside of IR35?
        Sounds like a sparky, so CIS is more likely to apply.

OP: please confirm.

Also, please note that most about these parts are IT contractors and that we will have little experience of CIS.
        ---

Former member of IPSE.

---
        Many a mickle makes a muckle.

---

Comment

No such thing as permanent these days. Use permanent jobs to get train and/or climb the ladder.