• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Salary Change

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Salary Change

Hi,

Being a contractor I have been paying myself £732 for 2020-21. This month I have taken up a permanent job (as a second employment - nothing to do with my limited company). Is it possible to lower my limited company's salary from this month? If yes then how low can I go?

Talk to your accountant.

You do have one?
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

No need to pay a salary.

Comment

Originally posted by Old Greg View Post
        No need to pay a salary.
        I know I have to pay the salary but can I change it to a low amount? eg £1.00 ?

Comment

Originally posted by SueEllen View Post
          Talk to your accountant.

You do have one?
          No.. I don't have a accountant. I manage everything myself

Comment

Originally posted by Jake1000 View Post
            I know I have to pay the salary but can I change it to a low amount? eg £1.00 ?
            Why do you know you need to pay yourself a salary? Who told you that?
            merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

Originally posted by eek View Post
              Why do you know you need to pay yourself a salary? Who told you that?
              I have always paid myself salary of £732. Now since I have a job I want to save tax and pay myself as low as possible. Do you mean I can stop paying myself even though I am employed by m y limited company?

Comment