Fixed Price Contract (FPC) offer Fixed Price Contract (FPC) offer
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 10 of 16

Still gathering requirements...

Default Fixed Price Contract (FPC) offer

Hello all,

I contract for an investment bank in London. In the up coming IR35 blanket move - I have been offered 2 choices:

a) move to umbrella company
    b) Fixed Price contract (FPC) - the bank will write a SoW (statement of work). this will be via an agency in between.

Though I understand FPC conceptually/in theory, don't have any practical experience. I am a business analyst. I have 2 main concerns:

1) Though there is a lot of work ahead, there is no modular work/project type work that can be scoped/estimated. (It's more like constantly streaming work). I myself don't know what will I be working in 2 weeks time. So not sure what the client will put in the SoW?

2) I myself can not just own a piece of work and deliver as my work is dependent on a variety of people around me to get it completed.

Hence worried how will it work in practice? or is it just a way to circumvent IR35? I don't even know how will I estimate and quote price?

Any advice/stories will be appreciated from the point of view of my concerns above.

Thanks,
    Geekman
    Last edited by Geekman; 15th October 2020 at 23:28.

More time posting than coding

Quote Originally Posted by Geekman View Post
    Hello all,

I contract for an investment bank in London. In the up coming IR35 blanket move - I have been offered 2 choices:

b) Fixed Price contract (FPC) - the bank will write a SoW (statement of work). this will be via an agency in between.
    Just take the fixed price contract. It will put you far enough outside IR35 that the tax man won’t bother pursuing you (they like easy pickings).

Similarly, if you don’t quite deliver it won’t be in the bank’s interest to quibble.

P.S.

Quote Originally Posted by Geekman View Post
    Hello all,