• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cutting out the middleman, working direct?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cutting out the middleman, working direct?

I might be in a position where I can contract directly with the end user, so no recruiter. Any pointers on where I need to be from a legal perspective (IR35, contract etc) I've never worked on this basis before. Always been through an agent that's taken care of the small print. At the very least I think I'll see if I can push for weekly invoicing. Just worried my chance of being screwed over could be higher.

If it turns out to be one of those 'payment on delivery' type gigs I'll run a mile.

I don't think you're any more likely to be screwed than through an agency, certainly less on the margin.

The thing you have to watch for is payment terms. They are typically longer, and you do have to chase payments quite often.

Everything else you leave to the contract reviews (IR35 and commercial), as usual.

FFP contracts are a different ballgame, yes. In that case, you need to be good at estimating and really clear about the scope of work and acceptance criteria. You can end up making a lot more money on FFP, but there's a lot more risk too, so you need to know what you're doing, else start small. I like to break them into a scoping stage and an independent delivery stage, especially when the customer has woolly ideas about what they want.

Comment

Originally posted by jamesbrown View Post