• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor subcontracting?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor subcontracting?

Just wondering how I need to go about getting work done for me without getting stung legally. One of my former colleagues is a dev. However, he's a perm and I'm a contractor. What I want to be able to do is send him requirements / specs for scripts that I need and then for me / my business to pay him for his efforts. I would then invoice my client for this work plus say a commission?

In terms of his working arrangements, he's a perm of course but he would be doing the work in his own personal capacity rather than through his place of work. Should he really have a proper limited company as well in order to make this legal? Just so there's a proper paper trail of invoices rather than just a single invoice from me to my client.

Then there's VAT....
    Last edited by ApeShape; 22 October 2020, 08:46.

Your friend can register with HMRC as self-employed and complete a SATR each year for their permie and SE income. This will allow them to also claim back some costs incurred in delivering the SE work. They ought to take out professional indemnity insurance against producing duff code.

They will invoice you for their work and don't need to add VAT unless they exceed the VAT registration threshold.

You add your markup and VAT to their invoice and issue your own invoice your client.