• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on move from permie to contracting?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on move from permie to contracting?

Hey folks,

I'm a permie, have started thinking about contracting and have been reading this forum for a while now, so I've taken the plunge and signed up here

I've been working for 15 years at a pretty decent IT company, been a lead developer for the last 6 or 7 years. However, in the past 2-3 years my salary has started to plateau, been turned down for a couple of promotions, etc. so getting a bit fed up, but still enjoying the work mostly.

I'd also like to do some travelling in the 2nd half of 2021 (assuming covid starts to settle down) - the company offers (unpaid) career break option, or I could just leave.

Long term, I like the idea of contracting and taking time off between contracts to travel and pursue my own interests. Looking at contracting rates, I reckon I could do this, take a few months off each year, and still come out the same as (or ahead of) where I am now financially.

Short term, in an ideal world, I could leave my job now and take a 6 month contract which would take me up to the summer, and I'd earn more money than my current job. Of course this isn't an ideal world

I'd like to get some advice from contractors on here.

Is the long term plan viable? Lots of (say) 6 month contracts with a few months breaks in between?

Short term, I have concerns about:
    • IR35 - is it reducing the number of contracting opportunities?