• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Starting Support & Maintenance Consultancy

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting Support & Maintenance Consultancy

Hi All

I have been contracting for over 10 years now usually for large Multi Nationals. In the past year or so I have been providing support and maintenance in much smaller enterprises.
    From this it has dawned on me that there must be lots of Small to Medium sized businesses who have UNIX, Linux, Database servers that sit in the corner of the office and either aren't maintained or are maintained by some third party company that charges exhorbitant rates.

Can anybody give me pointers as to how you go about finding these companies, I approached an agency but they weren't overly interested. Would anybody UNIX, Software or RDBMS people be interested in coming in with me on this.

If you can reply initially on here and if there are some serious replies then I will post my email address which isn't a hotmail or yahoo account.

I would always be interested in a venture like this, although I am currently fully committed.

I can see a day when computer support/maintenance/upgrade is treated like getting a plumber or electrician in. Definitely think this is a growth area. How about a future where there is a fleet of car-derived vans with a happy brand name and corporate sweat shirt wearing technicians travelling about in them to resolve computer crises. Or is this a bit tacky?

Comment

"a happy brand name and corporate sweat shirt "

How about

"IT Tits