• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

2nd to 3rd line

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2nd to 3rd line

I've been doing 2nd line support for 5 years now and I think I've covered pretty much all there is to cover in that role, I want to up-skill to 3rd line for obvious reasons but I have very little experience as my previous roles just haven't required much server work. Is it an easy step? For what I can see there's not a lot more to it and I already know my way around AD.

I'm having to compete with 1st liners for the 2nd line roles but I'm concerned that I'd make an arse of myself if I landed a 3rd line role without the experience.

The boundaries seem to be very blurred these days, am I just be over cautious?
    Gissa job

What are you like on firewall management, sizing, enterprise design, shadowing, clustering, failover management, SAN vs NAS, backup optimisation....? What about things that aren't based on Windows? Can you specify and configure an enterprise server from scratch?

By all means go for thrid line roles, just like all the thrid line guys already have. Just make sure you understand the significant step change between the two layers first. And that starts with working with that team as much as you can.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Originally posted by malvolio View Post