• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Miving from developer to BA

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Miving from developer to BA

Anyone done it? Any advice to give? Any reccomended reading?

I've been a developer for 13 years, contracting for 4. However The last 2 roles (including current perm job - warchest ran out) have been pure programming with no analysis or design at all. This has made me realise that the part of the job I really like is the analysis side, mixing with 'the business' working out what they really want etc...

Has anyone else sucesfully made the jump to BA? Did you manage to do it as a contractor or did you have to do some perm roles to gain experience? Most of my roles have included some BA type work, and my first contract (which ended up running for 3 years!) was more anaylisis than development.
    I am tempted to start applying for BA contracts, but I think I need to read up on something first to make sure I know what all the current BA buzzwords are .
    Still Invoicing

Originally posted by blacjac View Post
    was more anaylisis than .
    Good place to start would be spelling the main function of the role right
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Rejig your CV to focus on analysis type work, get an interview or two - permie or anything - and FIND OUT what you don't know that way... make notes of questions you're asked.
      Originally posted by MaryPoppins
      I'd still not breastfeed a nazi
      Originally posted by vetran