• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Beginner BUSINESS ANALYST .....with added questions!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beginner BUSINESS ANALYST .....with added questions!

Im currently a permie considering making the leap to contracting but a little unsure whether its a good move or not.

I work as a Senior Buisiness Analyst in Leeds and was wondering if any experienced people could help me with some advice.

As the job role of BA covers a multitude of sins is it realistic to contract as a BA? BAs also tend to be treated as more of a "resource" on a project (as opposed to a Project Manager who delivers a project) which makes me think it will more than likely fall within IR35, is this a valid assumption?

1) What skills are in demand?

2) Do your contracts typically fall within IR35?

3) Do you work for your own Ltd company or an Umbrella?

4) Whats the market like for Business Analyst jobs at the moment (Aug 10)?

5) How do you cope with badly run projects and poor client side management?

Hope someone can offer some advice,

Thanks

Ben
    Last edited by Contractor UK; 23 December 2015, 16:49.

Originally posted by BentheBA View Post

As the job role of BA covers a multitude of sins is it realistic to contract as a BA? BAs also tend to be treated as more of a "resource" on a project (as opposed to a Project Manager who delivers a project) which makes me think it will more than likely fall within IR35, is this a valid assumption?