• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract v perm advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract v perm advice

Nearly finished my 2nd contract where I have had a 6 month contract at a place where I worked as an employee a couple of years ago.
    Thing is they are reluctant to extend the contract on the basis that they want to take me on as permanent. If they do extend its likely it will only be to train my replacement as they are looking for another two employees to add to our current group of 3.

Anyway my rate is £320 daily outside IR35. Am expecting them to offer circa £55k plus pension, medical etc but that seems like taking a pay cut to me for doing the same job as I have been for the last few months. Have already taken a cut to come back here but it meant significantly less travelling than before so the previous cost of fuel and lodgings has balanced it out.

Apparently they are very keen to retain me but the only other option I have is to go back to contracting in Aberdeen and earn better money again as my girlfriend is training to be a nurse we are relying on my sole income (part of the reason why I went contracting in the first place).

Now I have just been told if I want the job I need to apply through HR for it. I don't see any current potential for career advancement or additional training/experience as its all stuff I have done before. Just seems like they are taking the piss and wanting me to do the same work for potentially less money.