• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35, what is the max that can happen?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35, what is the max that can happen?

I'm a software consultant, who has been a permie for the last three years, and just got a normal do 6-months work and get paid a daily rate for it, city contract. The employer just needs an extra hand to help the permies (and the other contractors). The ClientCo hires contractors for long time and treat them like permies.

While the contract between the agent and my limited company can be adjusted not to fall into IR35, however, the work practices might fall into that.

I have my unemployed partner working with me in the limited company and having 50% shares, so being out of IR35 compared to in IR35 makes a huge difference in take-home income that worth the risk of acting as out of IR35.

While I will be following best practices to be out of IR35, my question is, after reading the Dragonfly case, what is the max that could happen if I get caught under IR35? My initial answers are:
    - Less than £10K fees to different parties associated with the investigation - Please correct me if I am wrong.
    - Pay back the difference after a court judgement - I will keep the difference in a saving acount, in case
    - Hassle - But the difference worths it
    - No criminal record - Please correct me if I am wrong.

What else?

-Interest on the amount owned
    -A fine
    -A lot of stress due to unwelcome attention from HMRC threatening to take your belongings.