• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Timer: live in Belgium, invoice through UK Ltd... any advice?!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Timer: live in Belgium, invoice through UK Ltd... any advice?!

Hi!

A newbie here and not even sure if i'll be a 'contractor' with my future plans, hoping someone out there can read and let me know something...

I live in Belgium, resident, for the past few months. Planning on staying here for a while. I was employed by a Belgian company but decided to quit after the trial period and offer my services as an independant/contractor (they work with many already and are happy to keep me around for 10-15 days a month).

My planned setup is to run through my friends LTD company in the UK so I can use them to invoice and receive the funds. I don't have a degree so can't setup my own company here, and I don't plan to work all year round (will be taking breaks throughout the year).

The Belgium side of stuff I'm trying to look into (how to continue paying SS, and what % of income tax I have to pay here) to know what I need to do to stay legal. But in the meantime I'd like to ask these basic questions:

- Will I be a 'contractor' with this planned setup? (and therefore am I OK to post in here with you guys?! ) I'm just curious what my status will be with this setup!
    - Whats the minimum daily rate considering my setup and the fact it's my first time? Does 300 Euros/day sound about right?
    - What should I look out for doing this? Are there any risks with this kind of setup?