• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Restrictive clauses even before starting the job??

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Restrictive clauses even before starting the job??

Hi all,
    I wanted to pick the esteemed brains of the assembled masses to maybe help solve a problem I'm having at the moment.
    I've been working as a contractor on and off for nearly 10 years, flitting between contract and permie work depending on what was around at the time.
    Basically company X have been looking for a permie guy since April/May 2011. I believe 3 or 4 agencies had sent my cv to company X regarding the permie role, but it was never taken any further due to the salary on offer not meeting my requirements. Eventually they realised that they can't find someone with the skill set that they require, for the money they are paying, so have manage to raise an opening for a contractor to fill the skill gap.
    Now Agency Y (one of the previous 3 or 4, but not the 1st - if that matters) contacted me again, and because the rates are now better, I went along to interview, did ok, and wIas basically offered the job.