• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Trying to choose between permanent/contract banking/non-banking job offers

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to choose between permanent/contract banking/non-banking job offers

Hi All,

This is my first post as I've just signed up because I'm in a kind of desperate situation in terms of choosing a job.

My background is software development in investment banking recently working for Morgan Stanley and before that Barclays Capital (both permanent roles in Canary Wharf). Having recently been made 'at risk' at Morgan Stanley, I decided to start looking at other opportunities, both contract and permanent.

I landed myself a 3-month contract on a good rate up near Cambridge with a consultancy firm where I am now, who has offered me a permanent position, but I don’t know what the salary will be yet.

However, other ongoing interview processes have now come to fruition and I have a number of other job offers:

- One is with a tier-1 European bank offering me a 12-month contract at the same rate as my current 3-month contract.

- Another is a permanent managerial hands-on role in a London-based government organisation where I would be heading up a major high-profile project and would be managing a number of other developers. However, the money would be less than half what I would be getting in the 12-month contract.