• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IR35 Control

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IR35 Control

Hi All,

I am quite new to contracting still. I run a ltd company.

What I wanted to know was, what things can you show you have control within a Contract?
    • Do I need emails for every task my client gives me and set myself a deadline for each task to show i have control?
    • Also if I work off-site my clients offices and work from my office (based at my home) do I need emails for this for future?
    • Also if I increase my rates and my clients starts negotiating with me or disagrees/agrees do I need to keep emails to show evidence of me having control?

Are there any others examples or points I could use to show I have control?

I know this is a small picture and not the bigger picture when it comes to IR35. But any help or ideas will help?
    Last edited by New2011; 15 March 2012, 10:59.

• No
    • No
    • No
    and No

Where's NLUK to contradict me
    Blood in your poo

Comment

My 2 cents is :

There are many companies who make money off scaremongering and offering various IR35 guarantees and protection.

I think 75% of what you read as a newbie (talking only from my own personal experience) is just wrong.

If you're on site 9-5, have a manager to report to, and use their equipment, in most peoples eyes you are inside IR35, no matter what your contract says.