• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How to legally get out of an agency contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to legally get out of an agency contract

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the world of contracting and I'm now into my second 6 month IT contract and I'm extremely happy that I took the jump.

I've realised from talking to other contractors at the firm that many of them are contracted directly with the client and as such are better off then I am, as they don't have an agency taking a cut.

From anybody's experience is there a way for me to legally contract directly with the client and leave the agency?

Any pointers/advice would be much appreciated!

Thanks

Originally posted by tkmk View Post
    From anybody's experience is there a way for me to legally contract directly with the client and leave the agency?
    Yes, though it's not always straight forward.

1. The client often doesn't want to engage contractors directly.

2. Payment terms may not be as good/reliable if you go direct.

These two points are the main reasons why clients/contractors use agencies, though it sounds like they may not apply to your current contract.

The biggest problem is that the middle man at the agency won't like getting cut out and will often put a restriction in the contract preventing you from going direct for a certain time. The enforceability of this is dependant on the length of the restriction and your opt out status.