• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting through umbrella companies work permit

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting through umbrella companies work permit

Hi Everyone,
    I am currently working in UK through Workpermit Tier 2 (ICT)
    While searching for permanent job in UK (I'm a software developer) utterly failed (no one is willing to sponsor a visa), I came across a website where they say they will provide work permit for contractors through umbrella companies.
    May I know how does this work? Are there any issues or risks in it?
    Please advice. Thanks in advance.

Arun

I don't have any advice, but I know that many of us would be very interested in finding out how that works, so do keep us posted.

What's the website?
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

it's illegal, and it's called 'bodyshopping'.

Comment

Not allowed I'm afraid - work permits have to be sponsored by the company that you will actually be doing the work for; an umbrella company is an intermediary.
        Connect with me on LinkedIn

Follow us on Twitter.

ContractorUK Best Forum Advisor 2015

Comment

don't know if its allowed or not but I know couple of people already doing it!!

the umbrella sponsors the visa and off you go to your client as a contractor (umbrella's SME ofcourse). Umbrella gets a healthy margin and the contractor gets a good rate! All happy chappy!!

Originally posted by LisaContractorUmbrella View Post