• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client and Agent serve notice but don't pay me - where do I stand legally

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client and Agent serve notice but don't pay me - where do I stand legally

Hi,

I wonder if this has ever happened to anyone one here:

I'm a freelance IT contractor and have been for over 10 years. I signed a 6 month contract in January with a consultancy (thru a well known agency) this year due to expire in August.

After 3 months at one client site, the work dried up and they advised me they would re-deploy me to a role closer to home. They asked me to take two weeks off (unpaid) while they finalised the paperwork for the new client. After 2 weeks I'd heard nothing so chased up and was told it would be another week. I reluctantly agreed to take another week but at the start of the fourth week, I declared myself fit and willing and available for work and contacted the agency.

The dilemma I had as that the consultancy had a 1 week notice clause but I had no notice clause (under the wording of the contract) - this week they told me to "look around" for other work as the second client had changed their mind.

I contacted the agency to ask if this constitued me being served notice under the contract and whether I would be entitled to (at least) 1 weeks pay in the circumstances in luei of notice.